What a disgrace Australia is, don’t you think? Consider this over a glass of murky water, if you still have one:
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-7211833/China-revealed-biggest-foreign-owner-Australian-water.html?fbclid=IwAR2nFRr7AzHW9CZssODCjK1JtA00ayR64YCGiYAlG9eze1fmzFcMcjtJSeE
“Australia's water market should be more closely monitored after it emerged China is the largest foreign stakeholder, experts say. The Federal Government in March revealed that 10.4 per cent of Australian water rights are owned by foreign individuals or companies. Chinese investors own 732 gigalitres or 1.89 per cent of the water on the market - an amount more than Sydney Harbour which holds 500 gigalitres. In close second, Americans own 720 gigalitres (1.86 per cent) while British buyers own 414 gigalitres or 1.1 per cent. A string of investors from countries including Canada, France and Singapore own 0.5 per cent or less. The figures were revealed in a new ATO register of foreign ownership which was set up to monitor who owns Australia's most precious natural resource. But as China flexes its muscles on the global stage and seeks strategic influence across the world, experts say we must keep a close watch. A total of 10.4 per cent of our water being owned by foreigners is a significant amount,' Professor Quentin Grafton of the Australian National University told Daily Mail Australia. 'As such, it is important that Australians know who is using our water - it's a public resource and it's critically important to the country.
